Study Programs

The European model of study programs based on the Bologna Process is applied at the Department of Landscape Architecture and Horticulture. It is a three-level model of education 4 + 1 + 3.

Study programs at the Department of Landscape Architecture and Horticulture are:
• Undergraduate studies – 4 years (240 ECTS);
• Master’s degree studies – 1 year (60 ECTS);
• PhD studies – 3 years (180 ECTS).

Study programs meet the standard framework of European content of studies and include several subjects from four profile areas that must be represented in schools of landscape architecture as follows:
1. landscape planning and landscape design (design)
2. The knowledge of man, society and the environment (sociology, history of garden art and history of landscape architecture, urbanism, etc.)
3. Knowledge of natural and functional aspects of landscapes,
4. Knowledge of techniques and management (landscape engineering, management areas).
Types of active teaching are lectures, exercises and other forms of instruction – DON (laboratory work, studio work, etc.), field work, practical work, professional practice and professional excursions. It is common to work with mentors and in small groups, which contributes to the quality of teaching.